Somewhere In My Mind, a poem by Lexi Flint

 

There is a seaside village

I can visit in my mind

anytime I need a break

from the hustle and bustle of everyday life

On the shore I hear seagulls

I feel the warm salty breeze

against my cheek.

Barefoot

the cool water splashing my ankles

the soft wet grainy sand

squishing between my toes

Sitting along the edge of the ocean

watching the sun rise over the crashing waves

the tide rolling out to lands unknown

carrying all my anxieties away

This is the place

where I can just be me

not a mom

not a wife

not an employee

Just me,

sitting in the sand

my breathing in rhythm with the ocean waves

I whisper a prayer of thanksgiving

into the wind,

sailing on the wings of the gulls

out to sea

following the horizon

ascending to heaven.

and God’s waiting ears.

1 Comment

Filed under Black Authors, Lexi Flint, poetry

One response to “Somewhere In My Mind, a poem by Lexi Flint

  1. Great poem! I can feel the relaxing breeze through the words!

Leave a Reply

