Sound Waves, a poem by Lexi Flint

 

A hot cup of coffee, black.

Smooth jazz flowing through my radio speakers

on a sunny Friday morn

makes the longing I feel inside

just a little easier to bear.

 

I take one more drag off my singular cigarette of the day

smoke rings encircle my dreadlocked head

clouding my mind,

shifting images of you

less clear with each passing day.

You become better.

Less of what you are,

more of what I envision you to have been.

The you I dream of.

Personal deception of an aging mind

I guess.

Makes me long for what we had.

the images of the perfection we once weren’t

Ha Ha

waxing poetic over a hot cup of coffee

smooth jazz flowing on the sound waves

crashing into the foggy memories in my mind.

 

Lexi Flint

1 Comment

Filed under Black Authors, Jazz, Lexi Flint, poetry, writing

One response to “Sound Waves, a poem by Lexi Flint

  1. You had me at “A hot cup of coffee, black./ Smooth jazz flowing through my radio speakers”. Towards the end of the first stanza, I was digging this poem because it was full of character, the kind of character I’d love to hang out with somewhere funky and interesting.

    The rest was even better. I also regularly muse about the line between loving a person and loving an ideal that only bears a resemblance with said person. If any, that stuff is always worth waxing poetic about. 😉

Leave a Reply

