If I Had Never Loved You, a poem by Lexi Flint

If I had never love you

I would never have felt

the pain of rejection

of love lost, regained

to be lost once more.

There would not have been

nights filled with as much passion as there was pain

felt physically,

in my chest,

legs,

breast,

missing your warm caress,

whispered words,

hot breath in my ear.

If I had never loved you,

your broken promises

wouldn’t have torn my life

to pieces…

sharp jagged blood stained pieces

for another man to repair and claim as his own.

If I had never loved you,

I wouldn’t have known

the joy,

beauty,

passion,

a true and everlasting love

can bring.

So, I thank you, dear lover,

from the bottom

of my heart,

for releasing me from your grasp

that I may breath once more.

3 Comments

Filed under African American Authors, Lexi Flint, poetry

3 responses to “If I Had Never Loved You, a poem by Lexi Flint

  1. Wow, that’s powerful and emotional!! Nice!

Leave a Reply

