The Muse, a poem in progress by Lexi Flint

February 16, 2013

I know this is cheating but I found this poem in a change purse I was cleaning out today while trying to look up my speedy rewards number. I don’t remember when I wrote it but the sentiment is still applicable. I’m not sure it that is the correct word to use. Forgive me for I am sleep and caffeine deprived. I hope you enjoy it.

Lexi

My pencil is tapping

to the rhythmic beat of my heart

as I try to impart

the words locked

deep inside my head

still in bed

hoping that my muse

arrives to inspire

before I expire

my next to last breath.

 

(Please note that all writings on this blog  belong to Lexi Flint and shall not be reused, reprinted or quoted without permission of the writer.  All of the writing fiction, poetry, or non-fiction is the product of the authors imagination. Any resemblance to any person living or deceased is coincidental unless noted.)

1 Comment

Filed under African American Authors, Lexi Flint, poetry

One response to “The Muse, a poem in progress by Lexi Flint

  1. Pingback: Your Hazel Eyes, a poem by Lexi Flint | Lexi Flint's Author Alcove

Leave a Reply

