Your Hazel Eyes, a poem by Lexi Flint

2-13-13

It breaks my heart when I look into your hazel eyes

they’re full of such sadness and unspeakable pain

it breaks my heart when I look into your tear filled eyes

maybe I caused it

maybe I’m the blame

If I look into the mirror

would I see the person you see when You look at me.

I try my best to be the better of the two

maybe I should look closer at myself

than looking down so far on you.

I know that no one is perfect

I know no one can sooth your pain

but I wonder if you would just listen

to my reasons

if you would just let me explain

maybe I could suture your wounds

maybe I could lessen your heartache

for it is a cold cruel world out there alone

and it will never be the same

as when I could hold you close

as when you let me dry your tears

maybe I want too much from you

that you just are not ready to give.

It breaks my heart every time I look into your hazel eyes

Hands balled up into fist

a volcano ready to explode

I see such sadness and pain

even if I do not know the reason

even if you cannot explain.

Just remember

no matter what

I am always here.

Leave a comment

Filed under African American Authors, Black Authors, Lexi Flint, poetry

Leave a Reply

