Laundry Day, a poem (in progress) by Lexi Flint

February 12, 2013

Laundry Day

Laundry day is always the same.

Should I wash with Tide or with Gain?

I like both,

my husband neither.

Just because they make him a

sneezer.

“Honey,” I say, “sit back and relax.

I’ll use the cheap stuff to wash your slacks.”

I like smelling shower fresh,

and on my cloths to linger,

the breezy scent of flowers,

newly picked and garden fresh.

So unfortunately hubby,

you lose this round

and round

it’s agitating

wash and dry and hang

repeat.

It is the same

this laundry day thing

every freaking week.

1 Comment

Filed under African American Authors, Lexi Flint, poetry, writing challenge

One response to “Laundry Day, a poem (in progress) by Lexi Flint

Leave a Reply

