A Mother’s Love, by Lexi Flint

My job was to protect you from all harm

from the moment you were born

and you wrapped your tiny fist around my pinky

invisible chains

permanently attaching you to my hearts

a grip so strong

that at first I didn’t feel you

letting me go with every breath

every step you took

growing

learning

exploring

the world around you.

I shared your joy,

as well as your pain,

sometimes cutting my heart

deeper than your own.

Always pretending to be strong,

wiping away your tears,

yet hiding my own.

I watched you

conquer your fears

and the world

ripping my heart in two

as you began sharing

our love

your love

with another

releasing my hand

to grasp hold of the future

forever gripping

my broken heart

in your small hand.

1 Comment

Filed under African American Authors, Black Authors, Lexi Flint, poetry, writing challenge

One response to “A Mother’s Love, by Lexi Flint

  1. Pingback: Laundry Day, a poem (in progress) by Lexi Flint | Lexi Flint's Author Alcove

Leave a Reply

