A New Year A New Challenge by Lexi Flint

Where has my creativity gone?

It has been a long time since I have posted to my blog. I apologize for my laziness or  a better word for it would be procrastination. I have spent many long hours THINKING about my writing projects without actually putting pen to paper. I have three half finished novels  I would like to complete this year, God willing.  I am eager to get back to posting weekly or at least monthly book reviews and author interviews. 

Not having written anything in such a long time that I decided to challenge myself to write a poem a day for the entire year. (Sadly,I have already missed the first 8 days of the year.) I am using this self challenge to reawaken my creative side which was dampened with the chores of everyday life, work, laundry, motherhood and being just plain tired.

I will also be starting a travel writing class in order to combine two of my favorite activities, traveling and writing.  So if you see an occasional article here about my travels please bare with me.

Finally, If you have a book you would like reviewed or would like to request a blog interview for your latest writing project please leave me a message in the comment section and I will be sure to get back with you.

So without futher ado, please  enjoy my first poem of the year.

SILENT TEARS by Lexi Flint

Every night as she lays her head upon her pillow

an uneasiness sets upon her heart.

Without knowing the reason why

a silent tear

slips out her right eye.

keeping her back to her lover,

she quickly wipes  the wetness from her cheek

afraid he just might see

the real her,

some things you just don’t share

with anyone.

Every night as she lays her head upon her pillow

she plays a game of solitaire

a distraction to much needed self examination,

she fears that if she looks to close

she may find out why

the tears leak out of her right eye.

Every night as she lays her head upon her pillow

She says a silent prayer

to her God

to the Universe

to keep her safe until morning

to protect her family,

her friends,

her heart

from breaking once again.

Every night she keeps repeating

Every night she keeps from seeking

the reasons why she cries

silent tears every night

for if she would just let it go

release the pain no one must know

she may never stop crying again.

5 Comments

Filed under African American Authors, Lexi Flint, poetry, Random Thoughts, writing

5 responses to “A New Year A New Challenge by Lexi Flint

  1. Lexi, that’s a beautiful, poignant poem. I applaud your commitment to write a poem a day for the year. I just finished that same daily practice in 2012, and (though this will sound cliche and over-stated) it was a life-changing awakening for me as a writer, thinker, and creative person. Finding time to sit still and focus on an idea long enough to write a few lines can be hard. But oh so rewarding! I will be thinking of you.

  2. I’m rooting for you, you can do it!! Love you!

  3. Pingback: Laundry Day, a poem (in progress) by Lexi Flint | Lexi Flint's Author Alcove

Leave a Reply

