The Conflict by Lexi Flint, a poem to honor 9/11

WTC memorial lights

Image via Wikipedia

Today I cry tears for the people that I never knew
As I did ten years ago in the horror of 9/11.

I am conflicted about all that has come to pass
in the devastating wake of 9/11.

As a Christian I love all my brothers around the world
As an American I am glad Bin Laden is gone.
His death does not change the pain that the
thousands of families in New York, Washington,
and Pennsylvania felt; their lives forever
changed in a blink of an eye
because of ignorance and hate.

Who is to blame for the pain?
I have ideas I shall not voice here
We all have ideas some different, right and wrong
and we all have a constitutuinal right to that opinion.

I shall not say God bless America because I believe God blesses the whole world, but I am proud to live in the land of the free and home of the brave. I am proud to be an American. I thank the soldiers, like my father,  who have paid for that freedom, many with own lives.

This poem is in honor of all the firefighters, police officers, paramedics, soldiers and civilians that lost their lives on 9/11 and in the decade since in Iraq, Afganistan and all the other senseless wars around the world.

Let us go forth not in fear or hate or regret for what has passed, but let us honor the memories of those who lost their lives with love. Let’s us make them proud.

God loves you all and so do I.

Leave a comment

Filed under African American Authors, Lexi Flint, poetry

Leave a Reply

