For Those I Follow, a poem by Lexi Flint (Day 26 ) #aprpad, #poetry, #writing

Zora Neale Hurston and Langston Hughes

Image via Wikipedia

I’m on a lonely journey

through life

following in the footsteps

 of those who have traveled this lonely road before me.

the road is narrow

 with many forks

distracting  me from my dreams.

I follow in the footsteps of greatness

Nikki Giovanni , Langston Hughes, and Maya Angelou

sometimes stumbling

Their foot prints too large

like a child learning to walk

arms outstretched

feeling my way through the  darkest parts of my soul

Yet  I will stay true to my dream

never again leaving the path

inner fears will not stifle me

though I travel this road alone..

Leave a comment

Filed under African American Authors, April Poem a day challenge, Black Authors, Lexi Flint, poetry, writing

Leave a Reply

