How I got here (to writing) by Lexi Flint Day 1 #aprpad, #poetry, #writing

...Monet's poetry...!!!

Image by Denis Collette...!!! via Flickr

Unable to express my feelings

aloud

as a child

I turned to paper and pen

for in my journal

I was free to scream, fight and cry

I could create new worlds

or travel back to old ones

where maidens were fair

and knights rode in on white horses

to save me from the reality of pain

Silence was my safety net

writing my refuge

for in my mind

my innermost dreams, schemes, and story themes

play on the movie screen of my imagination.

2 Comments

Filed under African American Authors, April Poem a day challenge, Black Authors, Lexi Flint, writing

2 responses to “How I got here (to writing) by Lexi Flint Day 1 #aprpad, #poetry, #writing

  1. Pingback: April Poem a day challenge days 22-25 Enjoy! #poetry, #writing, #aprpad | Lexi Flint's Author Alcove

  2. Pingback: Second Thought, a poem by Lexi Flint Day 21 #aprpad, #poetry | Lexi Flint's Author Alcove

Leave a Reply

