#Nanowrimo day four, or I really don’t want to get out of bed. #writing, #nano @JimCHines #scifi-fantasy

Nov. 4th 2010

Today is the fourth day of Nanowrimo, National Novel Writing Month, and thus far it has been the hardest for me. Not because I don’t want to write or because I’m stuck but because I just didn’t want to get out of bed. My normal non-nano routine is to get the kids off to school then take a nap until around 9am when I get ready for work. Since Nano started I’ve aimed at getting four pages written in the morning and four at night. While this sounds like a great plan it leaves this writer sleepy and in pain from butt cramps from sitting so long.

On top of this I’m also doing the www.writersdigest.com/poeticasides November Poem a Day Challenge. Why am I doing this? Why am I pushing myself to write things most people will never see? Simply because I love to write and I enjoy a good challenge once in a while. Also since I “won” Nanowrimo last year I want to see if I could do it again.

Yesterday I participated in my first Nanowrimo write-in for the year and while I didn’t get any writing  completed we did have the pleasure of meeting author Jim C. Hines. He spoke to us about the trials and tribulations of being a novelist, while trying to raise a family  and work. He has published numerous short stories and seven novels. 

Author Jim C. Hines

Stepsister%20-%20Lg  goblin quest       Red%20Hood%20-%20Lg

Author Jim C. Hines (picture courtesy of amazon.c0m)

www.jimchines.com

What I took away from our meeting was :

a) Don’t send out your first draft especially your nano novel because it’s crap.

b) Give yourself permission to write a crappy first draft.

c)Brilliance comes during the revision process.

d) After you have made your novel as perfect as you can get it find a beta reader, someone you trust to tell you what is still wrong with it. (Mom’s and Dad’s are nice but preferably pick someone who is in the business, and who is objective.)

e) Polish it once again then find a reputable agent or publishing company.

f) While you are waiting for your book to be published making your fabulously rich and famous start writing your next book.

g) Don’t quit your day job!!!!

Mr. Hines talk was very encouraging and enlightening.  I’m hoping to have him as a guest in a future Lexi’s Author Alcove Interview. (hint hint Mr. Hines ) And while I won’t be able to stop working immediately after my Nanowrimo novel is  published, I plan to take a wicked vacation. So I guess it’s time for me to get back to writing the next NY Times best-seller. 

Why are you participating in Nanowrimo or the Poem a day challenge?

Leave a comment

Filed under Lexi Flint, poetry, Science Fiction and Fantasy, writing

Leave a Reply

