Fact : 1 in 3 Americans will have diabetes by 2050 #diabetes, #healthcare #diet #exercise

I know I usually focus on writing and authors but this subject was on my heart so I had to blog about it today, please bear with me. I was watching a news report on CNN Sunday afternoon and I was shocked to hear that 1 in 10 Americans have diabetes. Even worse by 2050  a third of all Americans will have diabetes. The reasons for the increase are many. But the basic answer is that we eat too much of the wrong things and exercise too little. We spend more time watching television than watching our waistline which scientist say increases ones risk of developing this devastating disease.

People of color; Blacks, Hispanics, American Indians, ect … have an even greater risk of developing diabetes. While watching this program  I wondered why is diabetes reaching epidemic proportions? Is it a lack of education, health care or our fast food lifestyle. Probably a combination of all three.  I know I have been known to take the kids to McDonalds more than I’d like to admit.

My father was recently diagnosed with diabetes and my grandmother was an insulin dependent diabetic. Is it inevitable that I or my children will develop diabetes? Yes and no. While I  cannot control my genetic make up I can control  what I eat and how much I  exercise. I recently committed myself to eating better, exercising more and have lost 10 of the 50 pounds I need to lose. Eating a well balanced diet of fruits, vegetables, dairy, whole grains and protein and walking as little as 30 minutes a day can help you and your loved ones stay healthy.

As a health care provider I encounter many diabetics who ignore their doctors warnings to lose weight and exercise. They fail to take their medication, or to watch what they eat, then get mad when they don’t feel well. My advice is don’t get mad at me, take care of your business. Sure it takes extra effort to cook, exercise and take you medication. It can be painful to check your blood sugar before meals and at bedtime. However those simple things could save your life, your eyesight, your limbs.

So what exactly is diabetes or sugar as my grandmother use to call it? Diabetes is a disease characterized by high blood glucose (sugar) levels due to the body’s inability to produce or use insulin. There are three types of diabetes. Type 1 is usually diagnosed in childhood,  type 2 or adult onset and gestational diabetes which occurs during pregnancy. Basically your body is not using the food you ingest properly and the sugar is building up in your body.

Today I’m focusing on the most preventable form of the disease,  Type 2 which often develops as a result of obesity.  People with diabetes have a higher risk for infections, cardiovascular , peripheral vascular, eye, kidney disease and neuropathy. This means diabetics are at increased risk for heart problems, blindness, renal failure, and limb amputation.

I am on a journey to get healthy, I hope you will join me. Below I have included some websites you can visit for more information.

What are some of the signs and symptoms to look for?

1.increased urination

2. increased thirst

3. increased hunger

4. weight loss and fatigue

5. weakness

6. vision changes

7. dry itchy skin and skin infections

Diabetes can be treated in a variety of ways

1. Insulin given by pump or injection

2. Pills such as metformin, glipizide,

3. Diet and exercise

Courtesy of American Diabetic Association

For more information please talk to your health care provider and check out the following websites.

www.Diabetes.org

www.cnn.com

www.CDC.com

National Diabetes Education Program

 

********This blog is not providing medical advise of any kind.  The content provided is for informational purposes only and is not a substitute for professional medical advise, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition**********

1 Comment

Filed under health care, Lexi Flint, Random Thoughts

One response to “Fact : 1 in 3 Americans will have diabetes by 2050 #diabetes, #healthcare #diet #exercise

  1. This is a good blog message, I will keep the post in my mind. If you can add more video and pictures can be much better. Because they help much clear understanding. 🙂 thanks Xanthe.

Leave a Reply

