Fall is upon us and so is the November poem a day challenge and #Nanowrimo

 

Today is October 4th 2010 and I’m finally ready to admit summer is over. It’s time to shed the shorts and tank tops of summer for hoodies and woolen mittens.  I finally had to turn off the a/c and turn on the heat. It’s a time to rake the leaves, light the fireplace and watch football games on the tele. October is also time to prepare for the Poetic Asides November Poem a day challenge and the Nanowrimo.

The Poetic Asides Poem a day challenge occurs twice a year in April and November. This year, as before thousands of writers will attempt to write a poem each day based on a prompts provided on the Writer’s Digest Poetic Asides Blog hosted by Robert Lee Brewer.  At the end of the challenge participants will have a chance to submit 10 to 20 of their poems for the chapbook challenge. Visit the website for more information.

November is also National Novel Writing Month or Nanowrimo. It is the time of the year when us crazy writers commit to writing a 50,000 word novel in 30 days averaging 1667 words per day. It may sound impossible but it actually quite doable. I won my first nano last year and you can do it too. There are write ins held across the country throughout the month which provides support for the sleep deprived novelist attempting to complete this task.  If you would like to be writing buddies for Nanowrimo my user name is  Alexis1016. Click here for more information about nano.

So what are you waiting on? Get on your mark…Get set…Go sign up today!

www.writersdigest.com/poeticasides

www.nanowrimo.org

nanowrimo_05_120x240

3 Comments

Filed under poetry, writing

3 responses to “Fall is upon us and so is the November poem a day challenge and #Nanowrimo

  1. hi!This was a really outstanding theme!
    I come from itlay, I was luck to search your blog in wordpress
    Also I get much in your subject really thank your very much i will come again

  2. laradunning

    I didn’t even know about this. I love to write poetry. I might give it a go! Great post!

    • Doing both Nanowrimo and the poem a day challenge in november is definately hard but not impossible. It challenged me as a writer. I participated in my first nanowrimo last year and won. I hope to win again this year. I am big on setting goals even if I don’t always achieve them. I hope to put my NOVPAD poems into e-book format after the poetry challenge is complete.

Leave a Reply

