Please help me Save the Romulus Public Library #books #library #reading #children

Yesterday I took my children on our weekly trip to the Romulus (Michigan)Public Library where to my surprise there was a sign posted stating the the library will be closing for good in September. I was upset as were the wonderful librarians, many of which looked tearful and red faced. I asked why the small but busy library was closing and was told that the library 250K budget had been cut from the city’s 2010/2011 budget. Romulus is a small suburb of Detroit with a population of approximately 22,000 people.  Our city is 36 square mile, a majority of which is taken up by the Detroit Metro Airport. We have one library, one high school, one senior center, rec center and grocery store. If you want to do any major shopping or entertainment you have to go outside of the city, which doesn’t bother me because I like the small town feeling. However our library is our citizens most valuable resource.

Upon returning home I immediately contacted the Mayor of Romulus,  Mayor Lambert, and the members of the City Council via e-mail and voiced my concern. So far only one council member has responded. So I am asking my fellow writers and readers to please e-mail the Romulus City Mayor and Council members asking them to keep our library open.  If we allow our libraries to close where will people go to read your wonderful books? Where will us writers go to do research, and write the next great novel? I am begging everyone to please help me by sending off a brief email to the to officials listed below to let them know how important libraries are to our children’s futures. I am not a politician, just a concerned wife and mother and I need your help. 

Mayor Alan Lambert  alambert@ci.romulus.mi.us

Leroy Burcroff Mayor Pro Tem lburcroff@bearingservice.com

Linda Choate councilwoman lindachoate@comcast.net

William Wadsworth Councilman wjwadsworth@comcast.net

John Barden Councilman barurq@aol.com

William Crova Councilman wcrova@hotmail.com

Celeste Roscoe Councilwoman celesteroscoe@aol.com

Eva Webb Councilwoman eva-webb@att.net

Thank you in advance,

Lexi

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

