Greek mythology gets a new spin in the YA novel FORESIGHT by author Sherry Ficklin #Foresight, #writing, #contest

“All Grace Archer wants is to graduate from high school and get on with her life. But the Gods of Fate have other ideas. Attacked at graduation by a mysterious woman with gruesome henchmen, Grace is lucky to escape with her life. Rescued by a Fae warrior named Chris and her Aunt Phoenix, Grace learns that her mother was the Greek Goddess Pandora. Now Grace must protect her mother’s urn from the crazed demi-goddess Lilith, who is determined to unleash its horrors on an unsuspecting Earth. As if her blood legacy is not bizarre enough, Grace begins to develop frightening powers that threaten to destroy her from the inside out. Can Grace find the strength to defeat Lilith? Can she learn to control her powers before she loses her mind?”

In high school many moons ago I enjoyed reading about Greek and roman mythology but haven’t read anything since. That is all going to change because Sherry has gotten me interested again and I can’t wait to go on this fantastic journey with Grace, the main character of the GODS OF FATE TRILOGY, beginning with her first book in the series FORESIGHT released by Dragonfly Press July 2010.

Sherry Ficklin is a full time writer, wife and mother hailing from Colorado. I had the pleasure of playing twenty questions with this talented author recently  about writing, publishing, and her new  young adult novel FORESIGHT . (ok so its only 19 questions number 20 was just too personal to print, just kidding.) Best of all we are having a Foresight swag giveaway (book bag full of cool stuff). We will be drawing a winner from all the comments to this blog entry, so ask a question, leave a comment, and most of all go out and buy this book. I can’t wait to get my copy in the mail. Foresight is available online at www.lulu.com, www.barnsandnoble.com , www.qoop.com , www.createspace.com to name a few and has been receiving wonderful reviews. Read them here.

DSC01464[1]Foresight Giveaway Swag

Leave a comment to win!!!

Winner picked at random, and will be announced on

Friday Aug. 6th 2010

Thank you Sherry for spending time in the Alcove with me, lets start with the simple questions…

1.  When did you first begin writing?

I’ve been writing since High School, but I only decided to pursue writing full time about 3 years ago.

1a. For some people something happens that makes them decide that now is the time to pursue that writing career that they have been dreaming about. For myself it was the death of my mother at an early age the started me writing again. What was the catalyst for you?

I was pregnant with my third child and on ‘light duty’, lol. I had these journals full of ideas, so I decided it was the right time to see if I could make a serious go of it, since I’d wanted to stay home with my children anyway. At the time it sounded easy. That’s a laugh.

2.  Who are you inspirations?

I think it changes from day to day and depending on what I’m writing at the moment.

3.  Congratulations on your Gods of Fate Trilogy finding a new publishing house, Dragonfly Publishing. How did you feel when you found out your previous publisher had folded?

Thanks. I got very lucky I think. When the old publisher closed it’s doors (which was less than a month from my scheduled release date) I was heartbroken. But I also recognize that everything in life happens for a reason. I’ve been very fortunate. I think Dragonfly Publishing has been a much better fit for me and my book.

4.  You describe yourself as former military brat. Is your book
Military Brats: After Burn based on your real life experiences?

To a degree it is. It’s sort of a throw back to the classic Nancy Drew type of mystery, but with a modern edge.

5.  Who are your favorite authors and what are you reading now? I read about 3 books a week, unless I’m writing something of my own. I try not to read other people’s books when I’m heavily into my own writing. This week I just finished Infinity by Sherilyn Kenyon.  It was excellent. Some of my all time favorite authors are Laurell Hamilton, Terry Goodkind, and Lili St. Crow.

6.  If you had one wish for your writing career what would it be?

I want lots of people to get to read my books. I don’t care if I never make any money at all, I just want people to love my stories. That would be HUGE for me.

7. What advice would you give other aspiring writers?

Don’t jump the gun. If you’ve just finished your first book and you are thinking of sending it to agents and publishers, don’t. Get a good critique group or some beta readers and revise at least 3 times before you start sending it out. I had a HUGE publisher interested in my first book, but in the end it was too unpolished for them to sign. I lost a major opportunity by not having my work at it’s absolute best before they looked at it. You never get those chances back.

8.  Do you have an agent?

Not yet. The nice thing about a smaller publisher like mine is that I don’t need one right now. If I look at doing something with a larger publisher, I’ll probably try again to land an agent. But I’m here to tell you that without a good agent, you are looking at a lot of hard work to get your book looked at. Difficult? Yes. But not impossible.

9. Have you won any awards for your writing?

Actually, I got a notice yesterday from the Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers about winning some sort of award, but I’m fuzzy on the details. LOL.

10.   Where can someone purchase your books? Right now you can order the hardback from Qoop or Lulu. The e-book is available at Smashwords, OmniLit, and will be at KoBo soon. The paperbacks should be popping up on Amazon.com and other places around the web soon. If you go to my website, www.sherryficklin.com, I have all the most recent links up there.

11.   How do you promote your books?

My publisher and I put together a pretty tight viral campaign that includes a blog book tour, some local events, and of course, massive social networking (ie. Facebook, MySpace, and Twitter). We are also doing things with local and national media and doing book events on both coasts.

12.   Can you describe your journey from struggling writer (like myself) to published author? What did you learn about the publishing industry and yourself along the way?

I think I went into it extremely naive, which actually worked out for me. I didn’t know I needed an agent. I didn’t know I couldn’t just e-mail the head of Penguin books and pitch my novel. So I just dove in head first. But I did learn a lot about how the business works, especially with smaller publishers like DFP. And in the end, after monumental rejection, I got that one phone call that changed everything for me. (okay, not everything. I still have to do laundry, despite my daydreams to the contrary) In the end, I think it’s about persistence. And I’m just too stubborn to quit anything.

13.   Please tell our readers about your book new book FORESIGHT and the Gods of Fate Trilogy.

Foresight is the first book in the series. It’s the story of Grace Archer, a typical young woman who discovers that her mother was the Greek Goddess Pandora, and it has fallen to Grace to defend her mother’s box from a twisted demi-goddess trying to get her hands on it. It’s a really great blending of fantasy and mythology. Think Percy Jackson, but for an older, (we say 13-30) female audience. There’s action, romance, danger, everything we love in these sort of escapist novels.

14.   With the success of the Harry Potter and Twilight series there seems to have been an explosion in the young adult market especially in the paranormal/ romance genre. How do you make your work standout in the crowd so to speak?

That’s the trick, I guess. I suppose you just have to write what you love and hope that other people love it too. I didn’t write to ‘cash in’ on the YA market or to deliberately try to stand out from other popular novels. I just wrote what I would have wanted to read.

15.   How do you get kids, especially tweens interested in reading when they have so many other distractions? It’s a struggle in my house.

As a mom, we set aside reading time everyday. When a book-to-movie comes out, I always make the kids read it before I’ll take them to the movies. It helps them understand that many times, they aren’t seeing everything on the screen. For example when Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire came out, my son was so excited to see the Quiddich World Cup scenes, which were almost totally cut from the film. He was so disappointed, but he was also like, “Hey. I’m glad I read the book or I would have missed out on something really cool.”

16.   How did you come up with the idea for FORESIGHT?

I used to live in Washington state. It’s probably on of the most beautiful, magical places I’ve ever seen, and that’s saying something. So when I decided I wanted to do a spin off of a classic Greek myth, it sort of sprang from that place.


17.   When did you know Grace’s story couldn’t be told in just one book?

Before I even touched pen to paper. It could have, I suppose it could have been crammed into one 200k book, but I really wanted it to be a saga. Something where each book was a chapter in her life, so to speak. And as with all great stories, the end is never the end. It’s usually just the beginning.

18.   In FORESIGHT you place a new spin on the Greek tragedy Pandora’s Box. Are you a fan of Greek mythology?

Huge fan. I’ve always loved the classic stories like the Aenied, the Iliad, and The Odyssey. Heroes and villains at their finest.

19.   What are you working on now?

I’m finishing up book 3 in the Gods Of Fate trilogy, I’m just starting to outline a new MG novel I’ve been playing with for a while, and I’m about halfway into my first adult paranormal novel, Palmetto Moon. And this is my downtime, lol.

Thanks for having me!

FORESIGHT~ Now available in hardback

Available in hardcover, paperback and e-book formats

Visit www.SherryFicklin.com for more information

Author Biography

Author Sherry Ficklin

14 Comments

Filed under Author Interviews, writing

14 responses to “Greek mythology gets a new spin in the YA novel FORESIGHT by author Sherry Ficklin #Foresight, #writing, #contest

  1. Sounds like a great book! I love Greek mythology.

  2. Carrie Farmer

    I can’t wait to read your book Sherry,I love greek mythology..you are so awesome..I have really enjoyed following your journey as you were writing and getting it published.

  3. Lori Jacobsen

    Yeah, Sherry! I am so excited about your book… I plan to pick up my copy today… :0)

  4. Avery Rice

    Hey, I saw a link to this in the VBIAM group and came to check it out. I love YA fantasy and this sounds cool- I’ll probably end up with an e-copy on my Nook 😀

  5. Monica Hudson

    I can’t wait to get my copy in the mail!! Sherry is such a fantastic author…and I’m DYING for Palmetto Moon to be finished….

  6. amber slaughter

    You certainly know how to juggle: writing series and raising all those little ones! Looking forward to picking up my copy at Crystal Books!!!

  7. Tammy

    I have read your book and it is fantastic, I love that I can totally relate to the growth of Grace from young girl to Powerful woman!

    • Tammy is the winner of our FORESIGHT gift bag!!!! Congratulations Tammy, Thank you for visiting Lexi’s Author Alcove, and supporting our authors.

  8. Crissy Bowley

    I couldn’t put the book down! It was so amazing. I loved reading it and only wish it was longer. I had a wonderful time escaping to Grace’s new world!

  9. Christina

    Ooohh! This sounds like an exciting book! I like the idea of Pandora’s Box. I can tell already that this will be an awesome read. I love Greek and Roman mythology and am a fan of the Iliad. I’m an aspiring writer and the interview really inspires me. I’m excited!!! 😀

  10. Stephanie

    Your book sounds really interesting; I’ve always loved Greek mythology, as I myself am half Greek. I’ll be picking up a copy for my kobo when I see it’s out. I also like your advice on the first book. I’ll definitely keep that in mind when I finish mine!

  11. meaghan

    we like many of the same authors. this book sounds really good. can’t wait to read it!

  12. Renee

    Great interview. Can’t wait to read this. One question: How do you push through when you have writer’s block? Have you ever had writer’s block? How long did it last?

  13. I get writers block all the time. (I aslo get ‘distracted by the internet-itis). The best thing to do is put away what you’re working on and go write somethng else. Whatever. It’s amazing how it seems to work itself out when you are busy writing something else. For this reason I almost always have two projects going at once. A main project and a goof off project.