I need to be creative

Today I have been trying to paint my dining room, (to no avail). Update my website, www.GiftzNGadgetz.com (partial check)  Plant flowers (check) and cook dinner (check) and baked a applesauce spice cake (see recipe below).  I have also been contacting  Authors to feature on my blog. What I haven’t done yet today is the one thing that brings me the most joy, writing. Ok so I did submit a small piece for 6S  but other than they I have not made any progress on my novel, or the poem a day challenge in days.  My only excuse is that…. well actually I have no excuses I have been off work for the last two days. Does thinking about writing  count? I guess not. While I was landscaping my yard and painting my hours and cooking my family a fabulous dinner it dawned on me what all of these things have in common with my desire to write…..They are all an extension of my creative self. I have just not but enough time into the creative writing. Well at least now I have identified the problem.  

I have one completed 1st draft of a YA scifi/fantasy novel, and an almost complete 1st draft of my detective series. My life is full of almost, and half dones. For once I would like to see a project through to completion. I leave for Arizona on May 15th. I am making that my new deadline for finishing my novel. Give me strength, give me inspiration, give me earplugs so I can block out the choas around me called life.

Keep writing,

Lexi

Applesauce spice cake

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

1. Sift together 1 3/4 cup of flour, 1/2 tsp salt, 1tsp baking soda, 1 tsp cinnamon , 1/2 tsp cloves and set aside

2. Cream together 1 stick soften butter and 1 cup white, or packed brown sugar.

3. Add 1 egg to butter mixture until well mixed

4. Stir flour mixture into butter mixture until batter is smooth.

5. Add 1 cup raisin and one cup or chopped nuts or dates

6. Add 1 cup of sweetened applesauce, ( I used the cinnamon flavored store brand)

Pour batter into a greased tube pan and bake for 50 to 60 minutes. This recipe produces a moist and flavorful cake. I don’t like nuts in mine so I omitted them but play around with it and make this recipe yours. I am enjoying a piece with my morning cup of tea. YUM!

2 Comments

Filed under Random Thoughts, writing

2 responses to “I need to be creative

  1. I recently came accross your blog and have been reading along. I thought I

    would leave my first comment. I dont know what to say except that I have

    enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Lucy

    http://dataentryjob-s.com

    • Thanks for joining me on this journey. Come back often, as I have interview lined up with several up and coming authors. I am really excited about it.

Leave a Reply

